Discover La Champagne

Champagne only comes from the champagne region in France.

The champagne production zone was defined and delimited by a French law of 1927 and spreads across five French departements and around 320 towns. It is this specific terroir that gives its unique taste to champagne.


The Champagne Designation of Origin (AOC) encompasses some 34,000 hectares with four main areas with The Montagne de Reims, the Vallée de la Marne, The Côte des Blancs and the Côte des Bar.

In addition to this, 17 villages are entitled to the Grand Cru raking and 42 to the Premier Cru ranking while the rest are ranking as other crus.

The three grapes that are most commonly used to make champagne are Chardonnay (white grapes with white juice), Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier (black grapes with white juice).

Champagne is the result of a year’s hard work. The climax being the harvest where only the best grapes are handpicked and then pressed delicately.



You must be 21 years old to view this content.